RunPod vs Thunder Compute
Thunder Compute is cheaper than RunPod on all 3 GPU configurations both providers list with on-demand pricing, checked 13 October 2026. The biggest gap is the H100 SXM: $3.20 on Thunder Compute vs $3.99 on RunPod. Platform facts come from each provider's documentation.
19.8% cheaper at Thunder Compute.
checked 13 October 2026. Price alone does not establish equivalent capacity or performance.
RunPod
cheaper on 0 of 3 sharedThunder Compute
cheaper on 3 of 3 sharedRunPod does not state node sizes. Thunder Compute does not state node sizes.
Prices are per GPU-hour for the same GPU variant. Published node sizes are shown with their rates; whole-node costs differ when node sizes differ. These are listed rates, not a guarantee of stock.
Price per GPU, side by side (13 October 2026)
| GPU (on-demand $/hr) | RunPod | Thunder Compute | Price diff |
|---|---|---|---|
| RTX A6000 | $0.59 | $0.35 | -$0.24 (-40.7%) Thunder Compute |
| L40 | $0.82 | $0.79 | -$0.03 (-3.7%) Thunder Compute |
| H100 SXM | $3.99 | $3.20 | -$0.79 (-19.8%) Thunder Compute |
Cheapest on-demand rate; the cheaper one is highlighted. Price diff is the per-GPU-hour saving on the cheaper side (named), relative to the higher price; – means one side has no comparable recorded rate in our data, which is not proof that it does not offer the GPU. Spot/marketplace tiers shown on the individual pages.
Only RunPod lists these GPUs in our data
| GPU | RunPod, $/GPU-hour |
|---|---|
| RTX A4000 | $0.25 |
| RTX A5000 | $0.27 |
| RTX 3090 | $0.50 |
| L4 | $0.59 |
| A40 | $0.59 |
| RTX PRO 4500 Blackwell | $0.72 |
| RTX 4090 | $0.89 |
| RTX 6000 Ada | $0.99 |
| L40S | $1.09 |
| RTX 5090 | $1.19 |
| A100 PCIe 80GB | $1.79 |
| A100 SXM 80GB | $1.79 |
| MI300X | $2.39 |
| RTX PRO 6000 Server | $2.49 |
| RTX PRO 6000 Workstation | $2.59 |
| H100 PCIe | $2.89 |
| H100 NVL | $3.19 |
| H200 NVL | $3.79 |
| H200 (SXM) | $5.29 |
| MI350X | $5.49 |
| B200 | $7.99 |
| B300 | $8.99 |
Only Thunder Compute lists these GPUs in our data
| GPU | Thunder Compute, $/GPU-hour |
|---|---|
| A100 | $1.09 |
Platform facts
| RunPod | Thunder Compute | |
|---|---|---|
| Billing increment | per-second | not recorded |
| Egress | free | not recorded |
| Storage /GB-mo | $0.10/GB/month for container or volume disk on a running Pod; $0.20/GB/month for volume disk on a stopped Pod; network volumes $0.07/GB/month under 1TB, $0.05/GB/month over 1TB · checked 13 October 2026 | not recorded |
| Spot offered | not published | not recorded |
| Reserved offered | yes self-serve | not recorded |
| Notebook support | templates | not recorded |
From each provider's documentation, checked on 7 July 2026 unless a later date is shown; sources on the fees matrix and enterprise matrix.
FAQ
Thunder Compute is cheaper on 3 of the 3 GPU configurations both providers list, checked 13 October 2026. RunPod is cheaper on 0; 0 have equal rates. Compare the configuration you need.
The H100 SXM: $3.20 per GPU-hour on Thunder Compute vs $3.99 on RunPod, a difference of $0.79 per hour, checked 13 October 2026.
We have an on-demand rate for 22 GPUs at RunPod with no comparable recorded rate at Thunder Compute: RTX A4000, RTX A5000, RTX 3090, L4, A40, RTX PRO 4500 Blackwell and 16 more. At Thunder Compute, 1 with no comparable recorded rate at RunPod: A100. A missing rate means our data has none, not that the provider cannot supply it.
Compare more rental options: the screener · price movers · methodology.