Lambda vs Thunder Compute
Lambda and Thunder Compute do not currently list any matching GPU configurations with recorded on-demand pricing, so there is no direct price head-to-head today. The table below shows what each offers, updated 2026-10-02. Platform facts come from each provider's documentation.
Thunder Compute
Prices are per GPU-hour. Rows match exact GPU variants and published node minimums. When node count is not reported, confirm the required configuration before comparing whole-job costs. These are listed rates, not a guarantee of stock.
Price per GPU, side by side (2026-10-02)
| GPU (on-demand $/hr) | Lambda | Thunder Compute | Price diff |
|---|---|---|---|
| RTX A6000 · node count not reported | not offered | $0.35 | – |
| Quadro RTX 6000 · 1× minimum | $0.69 | not offered | – |
| L40 · node count not reported | not offered | $0.79 | – |
| Tesla V100 (unspecified) · 8× minimum | $0.79 | not offered | – |
| A100 (unspecified) · node count not reported | not offered | $1.09 | – |
| RTX A6000 · 4× minimum | $1.09 | not offered | – |
| RTX A6000 · 2× minimum | $1.09 | not offered | – |
| RTX A6000 · 1× minimum | $1.09 | not offered | – |
| A10 · 1× minimum | $1.29 | not offered | – |
| A100 SXM 40GB · 8× minimum | $1.99 | not offered | – |
| A100 PCIe 40GB · 4× minimum | $1.99 | not offered | – |
| A100 PCIe 40GB · 2× minimum | $1.99 | not offered | – |
| A100 SXM 40GB · 1× minimum | $1.99 | not offered | – |
| A100 PCIe 40GB · 1× minimum | $1.99 | not offered | – |
| GH200 · 1× minimum | $2.29 | not offered | – |
| A100 SXM 80GB · 8× minimum | $2.79 | not offered | – |
| H100 SXM · node count not reported | not offered | $3.20 | – |
| H100 PCIe · 1× minimum | $3.29 | not offered | – |
| H100 SXM · 8× minimum | $3.99 | not offered | – |
| H100 SXM · 4× minimum | $4.09 | not offered | – |
| H100 SXM · 2× minimum | $4.19 | not offered | – |
| H100 SXM · 1× minimum | $4.29 | not offered | – |
| B200 · 8× minimum | $6.69 | not offered | – |
| B200 · 4× minimum | $6.79 | not offered | – |
| B200 · 2× minimum | $6.89 | not offered | – |
| B200 · 1× minimum | $6.99 | not offered | – |
Lowest recorded on-demand rate per configuration; highlighted = cheaper. Price diff is the absolute and percent saving on the cheaper side (named), relative to the higher price; – means one side has no matching configuration in the collected rates. Spot/marketplace tiers shown on the individual pages.
Tables rank by price, lowest first. Commercial relationships never affect ordering.How we collect and rank prices.
Platform facts
| Lambda | Thunder Compute | |
|---|---|---|
| Billing increment | per-minute | not recorded |
| Egress | free | not recorded |
| Storage /GB-mo | not published | not recorded |
| Spot offered | not published | not recorded |
| Reserved offered | sales only | not recorded |
| Notebook support | one-click Jupyter | not recorded |
From each provider's documentation, updated 2026-07-07; sources on the fees matrix and enterprise matrix.
FAQ
Lambda lists 22 GPU configurations with on-demand pricing that Thunder Compute does not: Quadro RTX 6000 · 1× minimum, Tesla V100 (unspecified) · 8× minimum, RTX A6000 · 4× minimum, RTX A6000 · 2× minimum, RTX A6000 · 1× minimum, A10 · 1× minimum and 16 more. Thunder Compute lists 4 that Lambda does not: RTX A6000 · node count not reported, L40 · node count not reported, A100 (unspecified) · node count not reported, H100 SXM · node count not reported.
Compare more rental options: the screener · price movers · methodology.